Soul of Flame Book 4 of the Imdalind Series by Rebecca Ethington

Posted March 6, 2014 by Lillian in Reviews / 1 Comment

Today I would like to continue with the Imdalind series and bring you the latest installment Soul of Flame. If you’ve not read the first three in this series I suggest you do so before reading this book or blog post. Otherwise you will be lost!

Soul of Flame Book 4 of the Imdalind Series by Rebecca EthingtonSoul of Flame by Rebecca Ethington
Series: The Imdalind Series, #4
Published by Imdalind Press on February 15, 2014
Length: 264 pages
Reviewing eBook from Amazon

The Time for the final battle has come.

Edmund's armies have surrounded the Rioseco Abbey, trapping the few survivors inside. The sight that Ilyan was given a thousand years ago is about to come to pass.

If only Joclyn was able to fight.

Joclyn is tormented by the hallucinations that Cail’s mind has left her with, her magic an uncontrollable torrent that even Ilyan cannot control. Her moments of lucidity are broken by fears of dripping pipes and bleeding walls, and a desire to kill Ryland that she is having trouble trying to ignore.

The sight has shown her power, shown her success, but it has also shown her death – The end of her life something she is not quite willing to give up on yet.

Even past her death, the sight has shown her love, and that love may be the only key to her sanity, to her strength, and to Edmund's death.

That love may stand in her way, and a single choice may tip the scales and secure their future, or destroy their fate.


Me after finishing this book:

So very good!

Soul of Flame is the fourth installment in the Imdalind Series by Rebecca Ethington and this series just keeps getting better and better! This book picks up right where book three left off with the kiss, Edmund’s army ready to strike, and Ilyan preparing for the final battle. But what about poor Joclyn?

After being trapped in hell for two weeks (which equated to about 80 days for her) in Cail’s mind, Joclyn is emotionally broken. She doesn’t speak with anyone but Ilyan and even that is not out loud. She cringes at any and all sound. She can’t even face Ryland without wanting to kill him. How will she be the Silny?

This installment truly showed what Joclyn is made of. There is such character growth as she overcomes her struggles from being trapped and as she faces her destiny. We see her learn to control her magic in a way that she couldn’t before and we also see her reconcile with events from her past.

Everything in this book leads up to the final battle and culminates with Ilyan and Joclyn fighting side by side.

If only he had blonde hair….

My only complaint about this book is that it is told exclusively from Joclyn’s POV. After reading Scorched Treachery I was hoping to see more from Ilyan’s POV and Wyn’s, maybe even Ryland’s or Edmund’s but alas that is not the case. This really doesn’t hurt the book/series/plot at all, but I was disappointed all the same.

However the author seems to be making up for that disappoint in one of her latest blog posts, she announced that she will be releasing a short story told from Wyn’s and Thom’s POV! I’m so excited about this. (Click here to view post.)

Again I must give props to this author for keeping it a clean read. Not too many YA authors doing this nowadays and it is refreshing! This book will not disappoint if you are a fan of the series. It is suspenseful and romantic with lots of mystery about the characters’ fates. Can’t wait for Dawn of Ash…..hurry up July!!!



About Rebecca Ethington

Author Rebecca Ethington

Rebecca Ethington is an internationally bestselling author with almost 700,000 books sold. Her breakout debut, The Imdalind Series, has been featured on bestseller lists since its debut in 2012, reaching thousands of adoring fans worldwide and cited as "Interesting and Intense" by USA Today's Happily Ever After Blog.

From writing horror to romance and creating every sort of magical creature in be-tween, Rebecca's imagination weaves vibrant worlds that transport readers into the pages of her books. Her writing has been described as fresh, original, and groundbreaking, with stories that bend genres and create fantastical worlds.

Born and raised under the lights of a stage, Rebecca has written stories by the ghost light, told them in whispers in dark corridors, and never stopped creating within the pages of a notebook.


Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Got a Reading Problem?

Get your fix here. Sign up today to receive new posts straight to your inbox daily!

One response to “Soul of Flame Book 4 of the Imdalind Series by Rebecca Ethington

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.