Review: One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost

Posted July 8, 2022 by Lillian in Reviews / 1 Comment

Night Huntress Readalong

Books of My Heart is hosting a year long read-along of the Night Huntress world books by Jeaniene Frost. COYER has adopted the read-along this year and is hosting chats for each book. You can see the schedule by clicking here. This is my first time reading the series though Halfway to the Grave has been sitting on my TBR shelf since it first came out. I’ve always enjoyed paranormal romance / urban fantasy, and vampires hold a soft spot for me. I’m excited to dive in. I’ll be posting reviews for each book the Friday before the chats. If you’d like to join us, find our group on Facebook here.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene FrostOne Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost
Narrator: Tavia Gilbert
Series: Night Huntress #6
Published by Blackstone Audio on 2011-08-30
Length: 9 hours and 6 minutes
Reviewing Audiobook from Library
Reading Challenges: 2022 Audiobook Challenge, 2022 Backlist Reader Challenge, 2022 Beat the Backlist, COYER 2022

The grave is one wrong step away.

Having narrowly averted an (under)world war, Cat Crawfield wants nothing more than a little downtime with her vampire husband, Bones. Unfortunately, her gift from New Orleansโ€™ voodoo queen just keeps on giving - leading to a personal favor that sends them into battle once again, this time against a villainous spirit.

Centuries ago, Heinrich Kramer was a witch hunter. Now, every All Hallows Eve, he takes physical form to torture innocent women before burning them alive. This year, however, a determined Cat and Bones must risk all to send him back to the other side of eternity - forever. But how do you kill a killer whoโ€™s already long dead?

Of all the books in the series, I may like and dislike this one the most. One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost is the sixth installment of the Night Huntress series which follows Cat and her vampire husband Bones. For the first time in this series, the story picks up exactly where the last one left off plunging us into a new adventure. Please note there may be spoilers to the previous books in the series from this point forward.

Cat and Bones are dealing with Don who is now a ghost and seemingly cannot move on. Cat was under the assumption it had to do with her safety, however there seems to be more at play. A new guy has taken over Don’s old role, kicking out his chosen replacement. As the drama unfolds, Cat is also reconciling the gift she received from the voodoo queen of New Orleans. Ghosts are still flocking to her, and this time one of them needs her help.

I really enjoy the world-building this series has to offer. There is so much to learn, and the author adds new elements with each book. Here we see a new side of ghosts and learn quite a bit more about them than we previously have. I loved this, especially seeing as how Don is now ghost.

Now for the downside. I really enjoyed the storyline and plot arc of this particular book. A ghost asks for Cat’s help in stoping Heinrich Kramer, a witch hunter who died hundreds of years prior and returns in physical form every All Hallows Eve to torture and ultimately kill women he claims are witches. There is a lot of lead and action-packed moments that bring Cat and Bones ever closer to Kramer. But the execution of the ending was a let down. It felt rushed and incomplete in a way none of the other books have.

Overall, I enjoyed One Grave at a Time. It was action packed and fast paced, which I’ve come to expect from the books. Tavia Gilbert’s narration is finally growing on me (after 6 books!). Bones didn’t sound so much like a little boy this time ๐Ÿ˜† While I’d hoped for a better ending, the truth of the matter is that I’m still intrigued enough to continue. If you are a fan of Paranormal Romance/urban fantasy, I highly recommend the series! It doesn’t disappoint.

About Jeaniene Frost

Author Jeaniene Frost

Jeaniene Frost is the New York Times, USA Today, and international bestselling author of the Night Huntress series, the Night Prince series, the Broken Destiny series, and the upcoming Night Rebel series. To date, foreign rights for her novels have sold to twenty different countries. Jeaniene lives in Florida with her husband Matthew, who long ago accepted that she rarely cooks and always sleeps in on the weekends. Aside from writing, Jeaniene enjoys reading, poetry, watching movies with her husband, exploring old cemeteries, spelunking and traveling - by car. Airplanes, children, and cook books frighten her.


Join us for Once Burned, the start of Vlad’s series, on August 5th.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Got a Reading Problem?

Get your fix here. Sign up today to receive new posts straight to your inbox daily!

One response to “Review: One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.