Blog Tour ~ The Urban Boys: Discovery of the Five Senses by K.N. Smith

Posted September 15, 2022 by Lillian in Features / 0 Comments

Blog Tour ~ The Urban Boys: Discovery of the Five Senses by K.N. Smith

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the Discovery of the Five Senses by K.N. Smith Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

Divider
Blog Tour ~ The Urban Boys: Discovery of the Five Senses by K.N. SmithDiscovery of the Five Senses by K.N. Smith
Series: The Urban Boys
Published by Two Petals Publishing on 2015-09-29
Length: 341 pages
Reviewing Paperback

Welcome or unwelcome. Fate has arrived.

"A captivating and poetic tale of mystery, fantasy, and reality tied together by action!" 5-stars, Lars Jackson, Amazon Customer

A suspenseful incident in a forbidden preserve heightens the senses of five friends. Sight, sound, touch, taste, and smell become super-gifts that forever change the world. But furious battles confront the boys as they try to understand their sensory super powers in a race to save mankind. With light beings and mysterious strangers complicating their plight, will the boys defeat the evil Druth before it’s too late? Get prepared for the twisting and grinding of this award-winning, action-adventure story — an edge-of-your-seat narrative for young and mature readers alike.

What People are Saying about The Urban Boys

“Brilliantly crafted and written!” – Megan King, Indie Book Reviewers

“An energetic adventure debut with stellar action sequences. Smith’s writing is intelligent and often lyrical. Her exuberant prose never fails to dazzle.” – Kirkus Media

“Author K.N. Smith uses her mastery of the written word to weave an entrancing, yet powerful tale of adventure that keeps you turning pages in an unquenchable desire to find out what happens next.” – Publishers Daily Reviews

“Well written and very creative, ‘Discovery of the Five Senses’ is an absolute must-read for fans of novels such as Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, etc.” – Anabella Johnson, Indie Book Reviewers

“K.N. Smith has an incredible way with words; her descriptions are vivid; you see what the characters are seeing, you feel what they are feeling; you feel like you are there.” – Cody Brighton, Indie Book Reviewers 

“A wonderful and deeply written emotional adventure.” – Self Publishing Review

“K.N. Smith’s articulate word imagery is all that is needed to transport readers to a mysterious world. Make the time to connect with this piece of literary prowess. You will not regret it.” – V. McDermott, Educator, English Teachers Association of Queensland, Australia

The Urban Boys Purchase Now Graphic

Excerpt

Prologue

AN ALLURING MIDNIGHT seeped through the preserve, where huge, wavy leaves danced beneath the moonlight. The setting was suited for a late night encounter between two friends. But almost immediately, their conversation went awry.

“Everything’s alright, I guess.” Ross Dawson weighed his words. His eyes roamed away from his friend. “But you’ve changed.”  

An imposing Joaquin Grayson grabbed Ross’s arm,  squeezing it to the point of pain. “You don’t think I’m capable of leading us in the right direction, do you? We can’t stay here going nowhere. I chose you to go with  me. We need to stick together!”  

His long nails dug into Ross’s skin, the piercing, half moon impressions nearly bursting through. His flaming hand absorbed Ross’s fear, the constricted flow of blood  beating against his palm. Ross bore the numbness of his arm. “Look at you. It’s  like I don’t even know you anymore!”  

“We’ve been doing fine for almost a year.” A blush wine color flooded Joaquin’s cheeks. “Why do you want to cut out now?” 

For the first time, Ross trusted himself to speak up, to  question the mounting dissension clouding their  friendship. “Man! Why do you need so much power?”  

He remembered when a youthful adventure had first  brought them to these forbidden woods. A place with tales of strange happenings, mysterious noises, and  unsolved disappearances… or so it was said. 

During that youthful adventure, they’d all changed.  Then, he’d changed. And somehow, the misunderstood,  glowing energy that had dripped from the huge leaves  awakened a solo ambition fueled by wrought emotions.  

Regardless, the two friends stood firm in the dark  night.  

Joaquin breathed deeply. As a result of Ross’s questions, and while wondering what would happen to  Ross’s gift, he set his intention. He let go of Ross’s arm and ran his fingers through his long, thick hair. 

He stilled his lean, muscular frame, restraining the rising tension in his body, hiding any indication of his  next move. Still clutching his hair, Joaquin closed his  eyes, listening for Ross’s movements. He knew he would not be able to turn back. It’s on me. I’m the only one who can build a new way of life. 

And in the absence of even a hint of an exchange,  Joaquin spun around and lunged at Ross. He grabbed  him by the throat, knocking him down. 

With brittle leaves and debris thrust upward, the two  were enveloped in a dark, hazy hell as they engaged in a  violent struggle for what seemed like an eternity. 

Ross flared up. “Get the hell off of me!”  

Joaquin persisted. “What are you going to do, Ross?  Where are you going to go?” 

Ross scrambled to his feet, fighting back with a blow to Joaquin’s head, followed by several body punches.  Joaquin stumbled and fell, giving Ross those precious few seconds required for his escape.  

Fueled by a rush of pulsating adrenaline, Ross ran  frantically, stretching his quivering legs. His rich brown  skin tightened as he pounded through the forest. He  tried to ignore his thunderous heartbeat while scanning the pathways, searching for possible escape routes.  

With his baseball cap lost to the wind, his short, curly  hair had exposed to the open air. Ross grasped the  moment, one littered with deep panic and a singular  appreciation for survival.  

This turn of events stemmed from countless episodes  in which Joaquin, only nineteen yet extremely  demanding, had tried to control those around him. 

The violent exchange was the smoky glow at the end  of a dark tunnel, and they had ventured across the  breaking point inside this lush landscape.

About K.N. Smith

Author K.N. Smith

K.N. Smith, winner of the “Best of” in the category of “Outstanding Young Adult Novel” at the Jessie Redmon Fauset Book Awards, is an author and passionate advocate of literacy and arts programs throughout the world. Her lyrical flair sweeps across pages that twist and grind through action-adventure and urban fantasy in edge-of-your-seat narratives. K.N. has over twenty-five years’ experience in communications and creative design as an award-winning consultant. Reading is still her foremost hobby. K.N. inspires people of all ages to reach their highest potential in their creative, educational, and life pursuits.

Divider

Tour-Wide Giveaway

Rafflecopter giveaway

Giveaway Details:

  • 4 winners will receive $25.00 VISA eGift Cards
  • Ends October 1 st , midnight EST

Check out the other stops on the tour!

Week 4:

9/18/2022 @booksrn_rashi
9/19/2022 The Momma Spot
9/20/2022 hodophile_z
9/21/2022 Wanderingwitchreads
9/22/2022 Jeff_of_allmedia
9/23/2022 Rajiv’s Reviews
9/24/2022 Little Red Reads

Week 5:

9/25/2022 RavenzReviewz
9/26/2022 Nerdophiles
9/27/2022 Review Thick And Thin
9/28/2022 @jypsylynn
9/29/2022 @enjoyingbooksagain
9/30/2022 Two Points of Interest

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Divider
Got a Reading Problem?

Get your fix here. Sign up today to receive new posts straight to your inbox daily!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.