WoW #270 ~ What Monstrous Gods

Posted January 31, 2024 by Lillian in Features / 1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event originally created and hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we are all eagerly anticipating. Jill has been MIA since August of 2016. Despite this, the meme lives on….Hope you come back Jill! Until then I will be joining Tressa at Wishful Endings and her meme Can’t-Wait Wednesday.

Happy Wednesday y’all! This week I’m eagerly waiting on What Monstrous Gods by Rosamund Hodge. I’ve really enjoyed this author’s other works, so I’m excited to see what she does with this one. She is known for twisting fairy tales into her own stories. This one seems *maybe* contain some of Sleeping Beauty. Cannot wait for this one!

Divider
WoW #270 ~ What Monstrous GodsWhat Monstrous Gods by Rosamund Hodge
Published by Balzer + Bray on 2024-03-05
Length: 368 pages

A rich and romantic new standalone fantasy loosely inspired by the classic Sleeping Beauty fairy tale, from the New York Times bestselling author of Cruel Beauty! Perfect for fans of These Violent Delights and The Shadow Queen.

Centuries ago, the heretic sorcerer Ruven raised a deadly briar around Runakhia's palace, casting the royal family into an enchanted sleep—and silencing the kingdom's gods.

Born with a miraculous gift, Lia's destiny is to kill Ruven and wake the royals. But when she succeeds, she finds her duty is not yet complete, for now she must marry into the royal family and forge a pact with a god—or die.

To make matters even worse, Ruven's spirit is haunting her.

As discord grows between the old and new guards, the queen sends Lia and Prince Araunn, her betrothed, on a pilgrimage to awaken the gods. But the old gods are more dangerous than Lia ever knew—and Ruven may offer her only hope of survival.

As the two work together, Lia learns that they're more alike than she expected. And with tensions rising, Lia must choose between what she was raised to believe and what she knows is right—and between the prince she is bound to by duty...and the boy she killed.

About Rosamund Hodge

Rosamund Hodge grew up as a homeschooler in Los Angeles, where she spent her time reading everything she could lay hands on, but especially fantasy and mythology. She got a BA in English from the University of Dallas and an MSt in Medieval English from Oxford, and she now lives in Seattle with seven toy cats and a plush Cthulhu.

Your Turn! What are you waiting on this Wednesday? Share below

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Divider
Got a Reading Problem?

Get your fix here. Sign up today to receive new posts straight to your inbox daily!

One response to “WoW #270 ~ What Monstrous Gods

  1. Oooh nice one! I can’t wait to read this too! The delay has been torturous! Lol. I loved her first book! I liked the companion but not as well, and I think I couldn’t get into her next series but I am all for this one! It’s been a bumpy road but having loved her first book I still call myself a fan! Lol. Hope you love this one too!

    Here’s my CWW

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower 🙂

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.